Skip to main content

NAACP Recognizes African-American Female Fire Chief

WHEREAS, according to the International Association of Black Fire fighters (IABFF), a number of African-American women fire fighters have overcome insurmountable odds to rise to the top of their profession to become fire chiefs; and


WHEREAS, in 2002, Rosemary Cloud of East Point, Georgia, became the first African-American female fire chief in the United States, followed by Debra Pryor of Berkeley, California in 2005; Jean Sexton Frye of McComb, Mississippi; Toni (Barnes) Talbert of Decatur, Georgia in 2007; and Angelia M. Elgin, who became the Nation's fifth African-American female fire chief in 2009.


THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the NAACP commends these African- American fire chiefs for their outstanding achievements and for paving the way for other African-American firefighters; and


BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the NAACP supports the mission of the International Association of Black Fire Fighters (IABFF) and Black Women in the Fire Service (BWFS) to provide a network that supports, educates, mentors and encourages African-American women in fire service, and recognizes the importance of their recruitment and retention in the profession; and


BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that the NAACP units provide increased visibility to African-American women fire fighters, and raise awareness about the opportunities in the fire fighting profession.