Skip to main content

Regarding the Civil Rights Pioneers Commemorative Stamps

WHEREAS, February 12, 2009 was the 100th Anniversary of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP); and 

WHEREAS, the United States Postal Service has released a Civil Rights Pioneers Commemorative Stamp series in honor of the contributions and achievements of the twelve leaders pictured on the stamps; and 

WHEREAS, many of the civil rights pioneers in the commemorative stamp series were heroic leaders of the NAACP; and 

WHEREAS, the recognition of civil rights leaders in United States history sets an outstanding example of the power of the people to bring about freedom and equal opportunity in our nation, states and localities. 

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the NAACP expresses its appreciation to the United States Postal Service, art director Ethel Kessler, and stamp designer Greg Berger for publishing the Civil Rights Pioneers Commemorative Stamps which coincide with the year-long celebrations of the NAACP Centennial Anniversary and Black History Month 2009; and 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the NAACP encourages all supporters, members and friends of the NAACP to purchase and use these stamps during 2009 in recognition of the NAACP Centennial Celebration and the courage of civil rights pioneers everywhere; and 

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that the NAACP urges its units to contact the Post Master General to make sure the stamps are available for purchasing.