Skip to main content
Image Fashion Show
Press Statement March 15, 2024

NAACP Celebrates Black Designers and Creatives at 55th NAACP Image Awards Fashion Show

Image Fashion Show

LOS ANGELES – This afternoon, the NAACP continued their week-long celebration of the "55th NAACP Image Awards" during their "55th NAACP Image Awards Fashion Show" at Vibiana. Hosted by actress Brandee Evans, the show kicked off with a welcome speech from NAACP President and CEO Derrick Johnson, followed by a presentation of the Outstanding Makeup, Hairstyling and Costume Design categories by NAACP Vice Chair Karen Boykins-Towns. 

"The phrase 'Black is beautiful' are words that have healed our community," said Johnson. "Today those words are given new life. Today we honor designers that fill us up with pride." 

The event's star winner was The Color Purple, which swept all three categories: Francine Jamison-Tanchuck for Outstanding Costume Design; Lawrence Davis, Tym Wallace, Andrea Mona Bowen, Angela Renae Dyson, and Jorge Benitez Villalobos for Outstanding Hairstyling; and Carol Rasheed, Saisha Beecham, Ngozi Olandu Young, Manny Davila, and Milene Melendez for Outstanding Make-Up.

Award-winning creative director, costume designer and tastemaker June Ambrose was also presented with the prestigious NAACP Vanguard Award by singer and actress Kelly Rowland in a surprise appearance in honor of her decades of work as a pioneer in the fashion industry, presented 

"June Ambrose doesn't just design; she exudes style and embodies her craft. June Ambrose is fashion," said Rowland. "She is effortless. She is still at the top of her game, still reigning supreme and still as ever, opulence and decadence darling."

"I have to honor the original vanguard, my mother," said Ambrose. "This recognition humbles me beyond measure. It is the validation of sacrifice, struggles, and the triumphs that have marked my path. I've been in business for 30 years this year, and from the very beginning of my journey, my 'AI' has been my secret weapon; my authentic intelligence. It has been my guiding light through uncharted waters. When there were no footsteps to follow, no blueprint. It was the authentic intelligence that allowed me to pave the way."

The exclusive event showcased a variety of looks from Black American and international designers, including Kevan Hall (Kevan Hall Designs and former Design and Creative Director of Halston), Okera Banks (Founder, CEO and Creative Director of OKERA BANKS), BJ Gray (Founder and CEO of Grayscale)and Kwaku Bediako (Founder of Chocolate Clothes Global).

Special guests in attendance included Aba Arthur, Andrea Mona Bowman, Brandee Evans, Charlese Antoinette Jones,Deirdra Elizabeth Govan, Elizabeth Robinson, Florence Witherspoon, Gail Bean, June Ambrose, Kelly Rowland, Lawrence Davis, Lisa Beasley (Corporate Erin), Lyndsey Scott, Melissa "Missy" Forney, Ming Lee, Ngozi Olandu Young, Shavonne Brown, Trayce Gigi Field, Ty Young and more.

Winners of the "55th NAACP Image Awards" will be revealed via telecast on March 16, 2024 on BET and CBS. NAACP also recognized winners in non-televised Image Awards categories virtually March 11-13 on and at the Awards Dinner on March 14. For information and updates, please follow NAACP Image Awards on Instagram @NAACPImageAwards.

The "55th NAACP Image Awards" is supported by the following sponsors, Wells Fargo, Google, Bank of America, Gushers, FedEx, Airbnb, Amazon, Procter & Gamble, Diageo, Denny's, Alaska Airlines, and American Airlines. Our partners include: Bacardi, CVS Health, Entergy, Hyatt, Intuit, L'Oréal, Lyft, Planned Parenthood, SheaMoisture, Uncle Nearest, Spill and Variety Magazine.

Globally recognized as one of the most distinguished multicultural award shows, the "55th NAACP Image Awards" will continue its tradition of excellence, uplifting values that inspire equality, justice, and progressive change, and highlighting artists committed to these values.

One of the most iconic annual celebrations of Black excellence, the NAACP Image Awards draws Hollywood's biggest and brightest stars. Previous years' attendees and winners include Angela Bassett, Will Smith, Viola Davis, Beyoncé, Nicco Annan, Ruth E. Carter, Glynn Turman, Quinta Brunson, Nia Long, Keith David, Jennifer Hudson, Stacey Abrams, Tabitha Brown, Dwayne Wade & Gabrielle Union, Tems, Erica Campbell, Chris Brown, Bruno Mars, Anderson Paak, Silk Sonic, Rihanna, Quavo, Takeoff, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Zendaya, Yara Shahidi, Issa Rae, Janelle Monáe, Tracee Ellis Ross, Serena Williams, Kerry Washington, Method Man, Dominique Thorne, Austin Scott, Tyler James Williams, Kyla Pratt, Jabari Banks, and many more. 

Instagram: @naacpimageawards |Twitter: @naacpimageaward | Facebook: /naacpimageaward



The NAACP advocates, agitates, and litigates for civil rights due to Black America. Our legacy is built on the foundation of grassroots activism by the biggest civil rights pioneers of the 20th century and is sustained by 21st century activists. From classrooms and courtrooms to city halls and Congress, our network of members across the country works to secure the social and political power that will end race–based discrimination. That work is rooted in racial equity, civic engagement, and supportive policies and institutions for all marginalized people. We are committed to a world without racism where Black people enjoy equitable opportunities in thriving communities.

NOTE: The Legal Defense Fund – also referred to as the NAACP–LDF – was founded in 1940 as a part of the NAACP, but now operates as a completely separate entity.


The BET Media Group, a unit of Paramount (NASDAQ: PARAA; PARA; PARAP), is the world's largest media company dedicated to entertaining, engaging, and empowering the Black community and championing Black culture. Connecting Black audiences through a portfolio of brands including BET, BET+, BET Gospel, BET HER, BET International, BET Jams, BET Soul, BET Studios, and VH1, the BET Media Group is a thriving media ecosystem of leading interconnected platforms across cable TV, streaming, digital, studios, live events and international. 

For more information about BET, visit and follow @BET on social platforms. For more BET news announcements, follow us on social @BET_PR.

NAACP Image Awards Media Contacts: 

Sunshine Sachs Morgan & Lylis | 

Luis Defrank |

Ariana Drummond |