Skip to main content
NAACP Staff and Leadership Marching - Styled Hero

NAACP Foundation

The NAACP Foundation supports the mission of NAACP by raising funds and promoting philanthropy to sustain civil rights and social justice advocacy.

The NAACP Foundation, Inc., a 501(c)(3) entity, supports our civil rights and social justice work by raising funds and promoting philanthropy. The Foundation Board oversees our Empowerment Programs, generating essential support for NAACP efforts, including ACT-SO, increasing economic opportunity and education, and fighting for environmental climate justice, equitable healthcare, and voting rights.

The Foundation is governed by a board of trustees. One-third of the trustees is elected annually to serve three-year terms. Officers are elected annually for a one-year term. Trustees represent 15 states across the nation and are accomplished leaders in the public and private sectors who are committed to NAACP's mission and vision.

Pamela Alexander

Dearbon, MI

John E. Arrandondo

Old Hickory, TN

Maya J. Bermingham

Washington, D.C.

Lori George Billingsley

Atlanta, GA

Larcine Bland

Grand Prairie, TX

Raquel Bone

Laguna Niguel, CA

Zafar J. Brooks

Coto de Caza, CA

Brittney Calloway

Edison, NJ

Angela Dorn

New York, NY

Na Eng

St. Paul, MN

Zephanii Smith Eisenstat

Honolulu, HI

Patrick R. Gaston

Centreville, VA

Yusuf George

Jersey City, NJ

Dr. Garth Graham

Parkville, MO

James Harris

Spring, TX

Christina Hollenback

Syracuse, NY

Jana Holt

Phoenixville, PA

Janice Bryant Howroyd

Torrance, CA

Gerald Hudson

Washington, D.C.

Fedrick Ingram

Washington, D.C.

Sarita James

New York, NY

Shazzia Khan

New York, NY

Tanya Leah Lombard

Washington, D.C.

Nate Miles

Newcastle, WA

Rev. Keith Norman

Memphis, TN

Chukwudi Onike

New York, NY

Stephanie Silverman

Washington, D.C.

Ed Foster-Simeon

Washington, D.C.

John Spinnato

New York, NY

CeLois Steele

Alpharetta, GA

Donnell White

Detroit, MI

LaChandra White

Allen Park, MI

Nicholas Wiggins

Washington, D.C.

Yolanda Egland Wilson

Suwanee, GA

Kathleen Wilson-Thompson

Chicago, IL

Carole Young

Missouri City, TX


NAACP General Counsel Robert L. Carter conducted the research, developed the strategy, and crafted the legal documents to establish the NAACP Special Contribution Fund (SCF) in 1957, now known as the NAACP Foundation.

The NAACP Board of Directors approved the creation of SCF to maintain funding for legal and educational work on June 10, 1963, to be directed by a Board of Trustees elected by the Board.

The group's work expanded in 2017, when SCF transition into the NAACP Foundation to help increase our fundraising base and to more effectively pursue and expand our goals for the 21st century and beyond. The Board has played a pivotal role in key fundraising campaigns, including our Founders Week Sustainer Campaign and the 2021 Advancing the Black Agenda campaign. Over the last several years, NAACP Foundation trustees have raised over $30 million dollars.

Teal Scribble

Support the movement

Donate today to help power the legal fight against structural racism and inequality.

Donate now

Join the fight

You are critical to the hard, complex work of ending racial inequality.

Become a Member