Skip to main content
NAACP Board Meeting
Press Statement February 19, 2024

NAACP Announces Newly Elected and Re-Elected Board Members During 2024 Annual Board Meeting

NAACP Board Meeting


February 19, 2024 

Contact: Alicia Mercedes,

WASHINGTON – Last week, the NAACP National Board of Directors met for their Annual Meeting in New York, NY where they elected and re-elected members, pursuant to NAACP's constitution and bylaws.

NAACP President and CEO Derrick Johnson shared the following statement:

"Each year, our dedicated NAACP Board of Directors uphold our constitutional duty of affirming board positions and regional representation. During our annual meeting, we elected and re-elected distinguished Board Members and Trustees, community members from across our nation who dedicate their time and service to uplifting the civil rights work of The Association. We look forward to collaborating and doing the work necessary to fulfill the mission of the NAACP."

In accordance with Constitutional requirements, the regionally elected and re-elected members were LaJuanna Bivens (Region 1), Jordan Walker (Region 1 Youth), Richard Smith (Region 2), Gia Greenidge (Region 2 Youth), Maureen Duncan (Region 3), Kyra Mitchell (Region 3 Youth), Betty Andrews (Region 4), Alexia Dukes (Region 4 Youth), DeMar Roberts (Region 5), Francesca Mitchell (Region 5 Youth), Ronald Reynolds (Region 6), Ashanta Gleason (Region 6 Youth), Carmen Taylor (Region 7), Channing Hill (Region 7 Youth). The National Board of Directors, under unanimous vote, also elected NEA President, Becky Pringle, as new board member.

"As a lifetime member of the NAACP, it is an honor and privilege to have been elected to the NAACP Board of Directors," said Becky Pringle, NEA President and NAACP Board Member."On behalf of the 3 million members of the National Education Association and the students they serve, I look forward to continuing to advance the mission of the NAACP under the leadership and vision of President and CEO Derrick Johnson as we work together to promote, protect, and strengthen public education."

Re-elected by Convention were Adora Nweze and Francesca Mitchell (Y). Re-elected At Large include Ophelia Averitt, Fred Banks, Karen Boykin-Towns, Amos Brown, Edward DuBose, Leon Russell, and Yvonne White.

In addition to the above appointments to the National Board of Directors, the NAACP Foundation Board of Trustees swore in all newly elected and re-elected officers and trustees, as ratified by the National Board of Directors pursuant to the NAACP Foundation constitution and bylaws. 

Newly elected Trustees:

  • Livingston Albritten, Jr.: Wealth Management Executive Director, Morgan Stanley, Plano, TX
  • Kenneth Dobson: Vice President, Detroit International Bridge Company, West Bloomfield Twp., MI
  • Barbara Marcin: Mediator -Self-Employed - Banking & Investments, New York, NY
  • Doug Thornell: CEO, SKDK, Potomac, MD

Re-elected Trustees:

  • Pamela Alexander
  • Raquel Bone
  • Zafar Brooks
  • Lori George
  • Janice Bryant Howroyd
  • Rev. Keith Norman
  • Dr. Dwayne Proctor (Chairman)
  • Zephanii Smith- Eisenstat
  • Ed Foster – Simeon
  • Nicholas Wiggins
  • Yolanda Egland Wilson
  • Carole Young 

We are grateful to everyone who is committed to advancing the mission of the NAACP and fighting for the communities we represent.

For all information regarding the NAACP Board of Directors, visit our website.

For all information regarding our NAACP Foundation leadership, visit our website.



The NAACP advocates, agitates, and litigates for the civil rights due to Black America. Our legacy is built on the foundation of grassroots activism by the biggest civil rights pioneers of the 20th century and is sustained by 21st century activists. From classrooms and courtrooms to city halls and Congress, our network of members across the country works to secure the social and political power that will end race-based discrimination. That work is rooted in racial equity, civic engagement, and supportive policies and institutions for all marginalized people. We are committed to a world without racism where Black people enjoy equitable opportunities in thriving communities.

NOTE: The Legal Defense Fund – also referred to as the NAACP-LDF - was founded in 1940 as a part of the NAACP, but now operates as a completely separate entity.

Derrick Lewis - Youth & College Hero

Six Months Until Election Day

From police reform to voting rights, and our democracy itself – everything is on the line. We need to raise $250,000 to support our work advocating, agitating, and litigating for civil rights across the nation. Donate today and your gift will be matched, doubling your impact.

Donate Now